My father’s dream

Hello🌻

I went to high school in the US.

My father asked me one day

“Hinata, do you want to go to America to study?”

“Yeah, why not?”

And that was it. He got me a flight to America.

***************

Later he told me that he always dreamed of sending his children over to America to study.

When the World War II ended, my father was 6 years old. He was taught to hate Americans when he was little, but still he always hoped to go to America one day, and see the world.

He went to America for the first time when he was in his 20s for his business trip, and he could not believe how big the country was. He said everything was so big and rich. People were so generous too. He told to himself

“One day, my children will come here and study!”

***************

He had some encounters with American soldiers after the war which was the main reason why he became interested in that country. Thanks to that, my brother and I got the opportunity to study there, and we both learnt to speak English.

Because of my English skill, I met my husband, and now I live in England – this all roots back to this 6 years old boy’s curiosity and dream. We sometimes pass our dreams onto our children. Where will this dream lead your child to? Nobody knows…

This memory of my father suddenly came into my mind when I was having a drink in a pub with some friends last night. It gave me sweet warmth in my heart.

I will write about my father’s experience with American soldiers soon…

My happy samurai life in London💫

Leave a comment