Freedom & loneliness come hand in hand

Hello🌻

‘By 2040, about 1.16million people over the age of 65 will be living alone in Tokyo, 43% increase from 2015’

This estimate was published few days ago in Japan. This is an astonishing number…

How it was written in the newspaper was ‘lone living old people’ (direct translation from Japanese)

The image we get varies greatly depending on the words that are used. For example:

‘living alone’ sounds very lonely and sad. Whereas ‘single life’ or ‘single living’ sound much more positive and enjoyable.

***************

‘Freedom and loneliness come hand in hand’

I really think so. Do you???

My children were home for their spring break. I need to think about breakfast/lunch/dinner, the house is a mess and I need to keep my eye on the time they are spending on their phones etc Hard work

‘I want to be alone…’

My husband takes up a big space in the kitchen. He asks me ‘what time are you coming back? who are you going out with?’ whenever I go out at night.

‘I want to be alone…’

Recently, the idea of ‘alone’ sounds so sweet to me. I dream about it🌈

But then, seeing my mum living on her own for more than 30years, I have learn that

‘Freedom and loneliness come hands in hands’

Living with someone else can be troublesome and hard work, but if you want to have that freedom, you need to also accept loneliness. Being free most of the time, and just have someone when you feel a bit lonely – that is just not possible. If you have that arrangement, you are extremely lucky so appreciate it!

I wonder what I will be longing for in 10 years time when the children grow up? Will I want freedom even if I have to face loneliness or will I rather not have that freedom?

So hard to say. We are changing all the time because our mind is never fixed.

My happy samurai life in London💫

Hinata

Leave a comment